Gingerly Lizzy


The Reading Rainbow
2002-01-25 - 8:41 a.m.

Well it is Friday but for some reason it feels "sans" friday to me.

I am in a better mood today. Geesh, I don't know what has gotten into me lately! It is like I have turned into Mrs. Grumpy lately. Gotta shake myself out of this.

So last night I finished a GREAT BOOK. It was called Serenity Bay. I haven't read a book since... well, it has been probably like 8 or 9 months. That is a long time for me.

When I was in highschool, I had the WORST insomnia ever. We tried everything, a herbalist, chiropracter and every trick in the book.

So every night, I would read until 3 or 4 in the morning when I would finally get tired enough to fall asleep. After awhile, when browsing the young adult section of the library, I found that most of the books I had picked off the shelf, I had already read. And I could read anything: fiction, non-fiction, autobiographies, history books and when I forgot to go to the library, I could even pick a cookbook off my parents bookshelf and read it!

I have always been a huge reader. Ever since I was little. I can read pretty fast too. My parents and brothers and sisters would always be amazed when I would start a huge book and finish it a few hours later. I guess I just get so into the story that I absorb each page... I don't even feel like I am reading, but rather like I am a PART of another world for awhile.

Books have always had the power to make me laugh out loud, or bawl my eyes out. This has caused more than a little teasing!

Dave on the other hand is the opposite of me. To him, reading is a chore. Something that you HAVE to do for school, not something you would EVER do for fun in your spare time. In fact, he thought that you had to RENT books at the library when we were there the other night. PAY for them. This was pretty funny to me. I guess a lot of it probably has to do with the fact that my parents read to me every night before bed and my mom would take me to the public library every few weeks... I don't think Dave got much exposure to that.

This is incredible to me. I don't understand how people don't LIKE to read. Especially if it is your choice. There are so many different places and people in this world, and you can almost see and experience them by picking up a book.

I am truly glad that I have this passion. I think it has taught me so many things and broadened my horizons enormously.

So to all those out there who haven't read a book in awhile,

why don't you pay a visit to your public library and take a little trip... it does a spirit good!

< TODAY SUCKS | New Layout >