Gingerly Lizzy


I pledge allegiance to the flag...
2002-07-05 - 9:09 a.m.

I am not usually one who likes to stir up the waters with controversial issues but something has been bugging me lately and since this is MY diary, I think I will not worry about the hate mail that I will most likely accrue, and say it anyway.

I have to say, firstly, as a Canadian, that there are a lot of things that make me laugh about the some of the people in the good old USA, and some outsiders attitudes about it. Now before I start getting hate mail, let me just point out that I love this Country, and celebrated July 4th with all the 50% of American Blood running through my veins. But still I laugh...

I just have to laugh that everyone is always trying to be so politically correct that they aren't actually politically correct for everyone, but only for those who believe in being politically correct. Does this make any sense?

People in the country whine if it's one way, whine if it's another... why don't they start whining over the horrible education system or the fact that there are children starving in one of the most powerful and rich countries on the earth?

I just don't see the point of all the whining when they have the choice to sit down and not take part in the pledge of allegiance. I mean, there is a CHOICE there, the next thing you know, they are going to start complaining when people talk about God in public... like "shhh, shhh, you might offend somebody!" To me it is just so ridiculous.

Canada's national athem makes reference to God "Keeping our land" and you don't see the neighbors to the north making a big stink about it do you? No, that is because people understand that you don't have to stand up for Oh Canada if it doesn't agree with your religious beliefs. Plus we have more important things to worry about and Oh Canada is part of our history, our culture.

When people have potty-sailor-mouths and take the Lord's name in vain, it offends me, but I am not going to go and tell them to shut up. I will just choose not to do it myself. By taking away the pledge of allegiance, sure you are satisfying some, but then you are taking away the choice for the others. Should we only sell one flavor of ice cream in Baskin Robbins because somebody doesn't like all the rest?

Yeah, kind of stupid analogy but I think it works.

People from other countries (and even people within the country-which I think is totally sad) are always complaining about the U.S., about patriotism, blah, blah, blah.

When they start doing that, I start hearing Charlie Browns teacher : wah wah wah, whawha wa wa wa.

I mean, look at France. France has its culture, its language, and a lot of people in France are downright rude to outsiders who don't learn the language, who are "different" by their standards (basically not from France). France enjoys a rich culture, and people travelling in France don't seem to whine about that. In fact, it is this way in a lot of countries. So why do people think that the U.S. should be so different? In fact, in comparison, I think the U.S. does a great job of being politically correct.

I read something this morning and I think I will just cut and paste it in here, I think for the most part I agree with it. I edited some of the parts I didn't agree with.

And remember, if you don't like it, you have the CHOICE not to read it.

�"In God We Trust" is our national motto. This

is not some Christian, right

wing, political slogan.

We adopted this motto because Christian men and women, on Christian

principles, founded this nation, and this is clearly documented.(Ummm history? Yes, I think so). It is

certainly appropriate to display it on the walls of our schools. If God

offends you, then I suggest you consider another part of the world as your new home, because God is part of our culture. If Stars and Stripes offend you, or you don't like Uncle Sam, then you should seriously consider a move to another part of this planet.

This is OUR COUNTRY, our land, and our lifestyle.Our First Amendment gives every citizen right to express his opinion and we will allow you every opportunity to do so. But, once you are done complaining, whining, and griping about our flag, our pledge, our national

motto, or our way of life, I highly encourage you to take advantage of one other great American freedoms, THE RIGHT TO LEAVE.�

I must say that I think that was put nicely.

I mean, sure, people always have the right to complain. If they don't see that it makes them look like complete idiots to do so while they take full advantage of the very country they are complaining about then, too bad for them.

But when it starts changing the historical values, and takes away the CHOICES of others, well then that is a little more than complaining isn't it? And if they have the right to complaing, then shouldn't Americans, who have desire, be able to have the right to say the pledge of allegiance?

Sometimes "politically correctness" causes people to become kind of stupid when it comes to having common sense.

Anyways, after that rant, yes, I had an awesome 4th of July. Maybe I will talk about it later but I just had to get that off my chest.

< Break | Updates, updates, upDates. >