Gingerly Lizzy


Ignorance Strikes Once Again
2003-02-07 - 4:53 p.m.

It really bothers me that there is still so much tolerance for religion bashing out there. I don't sit and write in my diary about how the rest of the world is wrong, or how certain religious groups are weird, or go on and on about things that I might have HEARD but really have no knowledge of.

It bothers me that this kind of thing is still tolerated for CERTAIN religious groups and yet if you were to walk down the street and make comments about other groups, it would most likely lead to a verbal if not physical assault by some offended passer by.

All I ask is that if people want to rant and rave, they should at least EDUCATE themselves as much as they can about the religion BEFORE they decide to spread lies. And if someone calls you on a wrong, admit it, apologize and move on.

I don't get it? Why hurt others just to be mean, or make yourself feel better, or voice an opinion that really won't make any difference besides perhaps making people think less of you?

I respect all of my diaryland friends for their different beliefs, and admire them for the grace and maturity they show in their acceptance of all kinds of people with all kinds of beliefs.

I don't bash their beliefs, nor do I push mine on them. Wouldn't it be nice if you could expect this kind of civility from the rest of the world?

Unfortunately, that is not the case. I have come across it time and time again in Diaryland here alone.

It makes me sad that such ignorance still exists. I can't wait for the day when people can mutually respect each other and be kind and friendly to others, trying to lift them up instead of trod on them and try and make them feel less than they are.

Please don�t sit and tell me what goes on in my religion. I am perfectly educated on this. There came a time where I made a decision for myself what to believe, it wasn�t forced upon me byt my parents and I grew up in a place far removed from most of its influence. My choice was educated, my choice makes me happy.

There is no point in arguing when the person you argue with is obviously oblivious and unwilling to learn the truth.

It just makes me sad...

< Friday Five | Chocolate Heaven >