Gingerly Lizzy


Why is this so difficult to understand?
2003-04-07 - 12:47 p.m.

Ug. Dumb, dumb, dumb insurance policy. My carrier decided last year that they would no longer be supporting IH* (asterix added for google protection). The main hospital/healthcare provider around here.

This only leaves one local hospital for me to deliver in. Much smaller, but pretty nice, or so I thought.

From what I hear, they have been seriously overcrowded with laboring women because of this idiot (and well known) insurance company Blue Cr_ _ _ & Blue S _ _ _ _ _ which seems to be a popular insurance carrier in the same area that also seems TO HAVE THE MOST BABIES!!! *Grumble, grumble*

SO, I am trying to register for prenatal classes. I call TRH - the hospital I will be forced to deliver my baby in, and they hardly seem to have ANY classes and all of them are full! Not that I could understand how it all works anyway due to the unhelpfullness of the information people.

Then I ask if they do any tours of the maternity ward, pre-admission stuff whatever, the lady asks me "like a senior tour?" Ummmm, why would I be wanting to do a SENIOR tour if I am having a BABY???

Stumped.

So I say gritting my teeth, trying to be patient: "Nooo, of the maternity ward? IH* offers tours of their maternity ward and you can fill out admissions papers in advance so you don't have to do it while in labor etc., Anything like that?"

And two of the INFORMATION people have no information. He tells me sometimes they take school children on a tour of the hospital... uh not quite what I was thinking once again. And seemingly, the hospital has no such thing. They say they can get a volunteer to walk me around the maternity ward or something.

Uh yeah, no thanks.

SO, it looks like I will be taking prenatal classes at the hospital I WISH I was giving birth at, and getting a tour of the lovely facilities etc., just to rub it in my face that I can't have the baby there.

GRRRRRR.

< Spoiled | Pokeys >