Gingerly Lizzy


Amazing Journey
2003-06-26 - 12:03 p.m.

Well, I thought I would use the few minutes I have while baby Blake is asleep to try and catch up on a little diaryland. I better make this quick though because I know he will be waking up to feed any minute.

Things have been going pretty good. Breastfeeding is still the biggest challenge and has brought me to tears on more than a few occasions. I am just waiting for the "toughening up" thing to happen so it doesn't hurt quite as badly. That is pretty much the only thing that has brought me close to the "baby blues" a few times.

My mother being here has been a great blessing. She cooks, she cleans, she watches him so I can have naps and a little time to get things done - and basically keeps me sane (and makes great company). I don't know how I could do it all without her.

Blake is adorable, and starting to fill out a little more (although he still has chicken legs!). He is still a really good baby and I think he will pretty much stay that way. He is so alert and when awake, he doesn't cry or fuss, just looks around, or stares at you if you talk to him. I would swear he he perfect vision already if I didn't know any better!

Watching Dave with him is so much fun! He is so adorable and very much adoring of his new son. He pepppers him with kisses and snuggles every chance he gets. He still has a lot to learn in the diapering department, but we are waiting until Blake's umbilical cord falls off before we take that too seriously. It should be any day now.

I know that I owe a birth story hear, but it is just finding enough time to sit down and do it that is the problem. I have told myself I will get it done this week though. I still have all of my paper journaling to catch up on as well! And all of my diaryland diaries to read!

Thanks for all the lovely notes in my guestbook. I have been overwhelmed by the kindness of all of you and one of these days I hope to respond! We also have to figure out what is wrong with this darn scanner so that I can send pics to family and friends and post some up here! Hopefully soon (although I always say that don't I!)

This whole thing has been such an amazing experience. I never could have imagined the love that I would feel for this tiny person so soon. Or that I would be willing to give up everything for him. I think constantly that I am so happy sometimes, it is too good to be true, and worry if something could happen to take this all away...

I can't imagine not every having him in my life. He is my greatest accomplishment (so far, hopefully there will be more to match in the future!!! LOL - FUTURE! LOL).

He is my greatest joy and I never thought I could feel so much so fast.

What an amazing journey!

< Finally!!! | The best day of my life. >