Gingerly Lizzy


Crunch Time!
2003-07-03 - 8:45 p.m.

I really need to find a faster computer. If this one didn't take an hour to download things, I would be updating much more frequently. I just don't have the time to spare nowadays!

Things have been great. Still getting NO sleep, but of course, that is to be expected.

The breastfeeding thing is getting easier. It still hurts, but is definitely getting better than it was. That whole shpiel about how it doesn't hurt if he is latched on correctly is just that...a shpiel. Of COURSE you are going to be sore, using such a sensitive area as a milk dispenser.

I really thought that I would enjoy breastfeeding more however. I don't. Not just because of the pain, but because to me, it seems messier than bottles, is definitely more time consuming than bottles (I have had MOST of my baby feeding experience with bottles), and kind of a hassle when you are in public.

BUT, of course, I am going to stick with it (at least for 5.5 more months), because it is cheaper and I KNOW it is the best thing for my funny little monkey.

Blake is adorable. He is such a good baby, I really think I got lucky. He hardly cries at all, just when he is really, really hungry or when he gets cold (hates to be naked!). He makes the funniest little faces and sounds while he is asleep... he has the biggest eyes, they just overwhelm you! I can't wait to get pictures up here!

It is amazing how much your life instantly changes once you have a baby. I can hardly find time in the day now to take a shower, and apply some makeup so I don't look totally hideous. Cooking? Forget about it! I barely have time for a bowl of cereal these days. I am sure that once I get the hang of this a little better, and he starts eating a little less often, things will improve.

In the weight department, I think I have lost about 25lbs already. Amazing what nursing can do! still not enough to fit into my prepregnancy clothes and so that has been quite depressing for me. I really NEED to get back into those jeans before I go home because I only have 2 pairs of pants that sort of fit me (all but two of the maternity capri's that I have are way to big and all the rest of my clothes are too small!). I am sick of wearing tent shirts everyday, but there is NO way I am going to get back into those snug little t-shirts with THIS belly! This monday, I am going to begin a strict regime of CRUNCHES! BRING ON THE CRUNCHES!

Everyone says, "go easy on yourself, you just had a baby!" and "It will take awhile" BUT there is nothing worse than looking pregnant when I am NOT! Seriously depressing!

Anyway, I am off to read my guestbook and then go feed my little monkey for the umpteenth time today!

HUGS!

< The best day of my life. | Finally! >