Gingerly Lizzy


Patriotic Moment...
2002-02-06 - 9:09 a.m.

So last night the Olympic torch came through Provo. At first I was thinking... well, no big deal, I would rather go my institute class. But then Dave pointed out that it might be a once in a lifetime opportunity and we should go, so we went to the Stadium. On the way there, I actually got pretty pumped because ALMOST EVERYONE in the entire town had taken to edges of the streets. Tons of little kids and grownups alike waving there little american flags... how cute...

When we got to the stadium the crowd was pretty big but nothing compared to what it swelled to as the hour the torch was coming through drew near. Dave and I stood there- for almost two hours. They had some good music- Peter Brienholt- whom I love. Pretty soon the crowds were massive and the torch was mega late but when it came, I think everyone in the crowd was touched at least for a moment.

I didn't think I would be, I usually opt out but I have to admit, something about seeing it and knowing what it represents- it just gave me that warm tingly feeling, just for a moment.

When we sang the Star Spangled Banner... I felt patriotic. And I could feel the pride that passed through the crowd.

Even though I am Canadian- CANADA ROCKS!- Sorry, just had to throw that in there.

All in all, Dave and I froze our tush's off to stand there for two hours and stare at peoples butts (who were on other peoples shoulders, thus making it impossible to see) while the torch came through. I was only able to get a few glimpses... I got a little mild frostbite on my cheeks...

but it was worth it. And I would do it again.

This morning, while I was getting dressed for work, I couldn't help but stop to watch my darling husband sleeping, with his arm curled around my pillow as my substitute. I couldn't help but smile and feel overwhelmed with love for this person who makes me so incredibly happy...

and think that I had received the best gift of all from the good old U.S. of A, and he was sleeping in our bed.

Ahhhhh... blissssss...

< The Olympic Torch | Rice Krispie treat for meeee!!! >