Gingerly Lizzy


Railroaded.
2002-06-26 - 8:53 a.m.

I am such a naughty, naughty wife. I did a no no.

I met Bree at Carrabas last night for some good eats and talks. I found out it had been her birthday on the 24th so I told her dinner was on me.

I knew Dave would not be happy that I spent thirty-some bucks on dinner so I was in the shower when I "omitted".

He came in and asked me how much I had spent on dinner. I told him "my dinner was eleven something and I only got water" (which was true...)

Then I thought, it would really suck right now if he went into my purse and found the receipt.

Am I clairvoyant or what!

The next thing I know, he is back in the bathroom, asking me if I paid for Bree's dinner too. By this time, I knew that he found the receipt so I better just fess up.

He asked me how I could lie... I told him I didn't... really... just left out some information (justification, justification). I asked him how he could go into my purse and check (trying to scrape together some injustice now). I told him it had been Bree's birthday and I felt bad because I didn't know... yada, yada, yada...

I got caught in a lie. Plain and simple.

I felt pretty bad, and pretty scummy... so I proceeded to go ahead and go to bed while he was in the shower.

This morning I rolled over to him, snuggled him and told him I was sorry. He said it was okay. But I still feel bad. I know that this had caused him to lose some trust in me and that sucks. Only time will get that back and I have a feeling he will be looking in my purse a lot more frequently now.

I know you must be thinking, "How controlling" cause that is how it sounds, but it isn't like that at all. I gave him a wishy-washy answer, he suspected it, he investigated and found out I was being less than honest with him.

I would have done the same thing.

Sometimes I just suck.

Seriously.

So I wanna hear the stories to help me feel better... How did YOU get caught? Leav'em in the guestbook please and thankyou.

< Being a Duck | randomness >