Gingerly Lizzy


Monte Christo, the Sandwhich... not the movie!
2002-11-25 - 10:22 a.m.

Today I have to get my thryroid checked and go to the hospital for the blood test for my prenatal.

Two blood tests in one day. And on a Monday at that. I just hope they can find my veins. Time to drink lots of water!!!

The prenatal exam was fine. Sorta. Everything felt fine, or so the doctor told me. And that was the quickest pap I have ever had. Like 20 seconds if that. I have found a winner. Less humiliation and ceiling staring.

The apppointment went a lot faster than I thought it would, and of course, even though I drank a HUGE glass of juice before we left the house, I couldn't go. I think I had stagefright. I could hear all the nurses and people in and out of that area and it was just really distracting you know? Next time...

The REALLY, REALLY bad part is that I have gained A LOT of weight. HOLY COW. I have honestly never weighed so much IN MY LIFE. Don't even ask me for numbers cause YOU AREN'T GETTING ANY. I will take them to my grave. But lets just say, I have gained almost what I am supposed to ... MY ENTIRE PREGNANCY. That is right. I was so startled! I mean really, I don't LOOK like I have gained that much weight. A little pudge around the tummy but that is it really. I asked Dave (who I know will be kind but honest with me) if he has noticed and he was blown away. He said there is no way I look like I have gained that much...

So, the plan is, fruits and veggies and nada on the sugar. And you can bet your butt that I will be paying daily visits to the gym for walk-a-thons. Dave is going to go with so I don't have to be all alone. What a man, what a man, what a mighty good man.

Actually, maybe I should say "I'm fat, I'm huge, I look like a blimp" and then when I go home for Christmas and my friends see me, they will think "what was she talking about? She looks wayyyy better than what she said..." Yeah... so Mel, Mich, Al... that is what I am saying.

Our next appointment will be in a month on the 20th... and we will probably get to hear the baby's heartbeat. I CAN'T WAIT FOR THAT!!!

We had a wedding and reception on Friday night which was fine. Gooooood food. They had some kind of this smooth, velvety white peppermint fudge and I was in love. Saturday Katie and I went and I got more fabric for the duvet cover I am making. Creak colored with red pattern in french toile. Very romantic. Now lets see if I can ever get it done. Daves friends came over to watch the BYU/UTAH game and wouldn't you know, BYU lost... first time in a few years... was a tad heartbreaking. Good thing I am not a football fan or I would have been distraught.

Katie hung out at the house for the rest of the day, we made banana muffins (great grandma Elizabeth's recipe and the best you have ever had) and watched The Count of Monte Christo. Speaking of Monte Christo... does anyone love Monte Christo sandwhiches as much as I do? When I was working in CT, all the girls would get together and go to bennigans and I would always order the Monte Christo. YUM!!!! If you don't know what it is, basically a sandwhich that is dipped in a batter and grilled. It has ham and turkey, swiss cheese and some stuff... and usually light powdered sugar on the outside and you dip it in a red sweet sauce, rasberry or red currant or a mixture...

YUMMMMMMMM!

Anyway, fitpregnancy has a recipe for them (the healthy version). I had forgotten all about them. Guess what we are having for dinner tonight? LALALALALA.

Sunday was good... relaxing. Dave and I talked with his parents about marriage and lots of other things for awhile. It was a good conversation but I really need to learn to shut up. I keep going, and going.

Good news is, I only have three days of work this week. Thursday and Friday are paid vacation days thanks to this wonderful company.

Bad news is, my boss has the entire week off which means BORING TIMES AHEAD.

Entertainment gladly accepted.

< getting nervous | Wonderful Life >