Gingerly Lizzy


CRAZY ALIAS ENDING!
2003-05-05 - 9:26 a.m.

The weekend was good, but as usual, wayyy too short. Kinney's wedding was amazing and she looked nothing short of amazing. I guess her florist told her that she thought Kinney's wedding was "the wedding of the year" that they did, and I would have to agree with that!

I even managed to get a couple slow dances in with Dave at the Reception on Saturday night! It isn't often that we get the chance to dance together, and even though the baby bump was in the way, it was still a lot of fun.

I did however, run into a rude comment. A lady said to me "you must be ready to pop!" and when I said "no, I still have 7 more weeks to go" she looked at me incredulously and said "WOW! That must be one big baby in there, you are HUGE!" ...

Common people, check your tongue with your coat if you have tendencies to make comments like that. From what I gather, I am NOT THAT HUGE. I mean, sure, a little bigger than most of the women in my prenatal class, but not THAT much bigger.

Geesh.

One thing about being pregnant, is you feel like only that... PREGNANT. I am no longer Liz, I am "that pregnant girl".

I can't wait to feel like I have some of my own identity back.

I have been having BH contractions this morning... at least I hope that is what it is. I have also been having some tightening and mild pain in my lower back. I am going to ignore it for now and see if it goes away on it's own.

Due to all the back problems, and tailbone junk, I have a feeling most of the labor I experience will be in my back. Thank goodness for epidurals! There is NO WAY I would try this natural (despite what I considered in the beginning) knowing that most likely, they will have to break my tailbone or it will break on it's own. It is one thing to break it while falling full force down a ski hill on a snowboard, too scared to even realize what kind of pain you are in until the fall is over... and then being too glad that you are still alive and full of adrenaline to feel it too much... it is another thing entirely to hear and feel the break as it happens while lying in a hospital bed amid contractions!

Noooooo thank you!

So, is anyone as addicted to Alias as I am? And did anyone else almost pass out at the end of the season finale last night? I just *HATE* when they leave you hanging like that... and I could have cried that Von is married, I mean COMMON, THAT JUST STINKS!!! After all the trouble they went through to be together and then she disappears for two years not remembering a thing and he gets married? What else can go wrong in poor Sidney's life! I mean, I don't usually get into shows like this, but I love Jennifer Garner and find the story completely addicting.

Anyway, before I sound like too much of a loser, I am going to move on.

My baby shower invitations are going out today! YEY! It is set in stone for the 17th, and hopefully a lot of people come and it will be fun.

I registered at Target on Saturday, boring Katie to death, but it is the best thing to do when everyone keeps asking me "what do you need?" Like I am going to say "oh, I need this, and this and go buy me this." That would be even tackier than registering.

My mom and I were talking last night, and she told me that she had to be hospitalized for a weekend before my due date for Toxemia. Now, normally, this wouldn't phase me at all, but since she and I physically are SO much alike, and since the dr.'s comment about me retaining too much water at my last visit, it does strike a bit of a chord. I will have to ask the Dr. at my next visit about what to look for, just to keep a lookout.

I can't believe only 7 weeks left! Here is what Baby center says about my pregnancy at 33 weeks:

Your baby now weighs about 4 1/4 pounds and is approximately 17 inches long. Your baby should already be getting ready for delivery by turning upside-down � his head should be pointing down. Your doctor or midwife will be paying careful attention to your baby's position in the coming weeks � some babies do decide to turn back around.

Your baby's skull is still quite pliable and not completely joined, in part so he can ease out of the relatively narrow birth canal. But the bones in the rest of his body are hardening. Your baby's skin is also gradually becoming less red and wrinkled.

If you're a first-time mother, your child's head may move into the pelvis this week and press firmly against your cervix. (This happens for about half of all first-time mothers.) If you're a second-time mom, you can expect this to happen a week before labor � and for some this won't happen until the advanced stages of labor.

You may notice that your feet and ankles are quite swollen toward the end of the day. Water retention, also known as edema, is often worse in warm weather and late in the day. Surprisingly, keeping hydrated helps reduce water retention. Your body � particularly your kidneys � and your baby need plenty of fluids, so drink up. If you suddenly feel swollen or puffy in your hands or face, however, call your doctor � it may be a sign of preeclampsia.

< Mrs. Grumpy | Mmm, Heath Ledger >