Gingerly Lizzy


Thanksgiving for good food.
2006-11-20 - 12:41 p.m.

One of the things you may not know about me is that I LOVE to cook. And bake. It relaxes me and I find it fun. Especially when the end result tastes SO good.

So, in the spirit of Thanksgiving, I am sharing TWO recipes with all of you that I promise are divine.

The first is my extremely famous Sweet Potato (or Yam) Souffle. Even people who have sworn they hate them really like this recipe. It is sweet and delicious.

The second is my Cheese and Carrot Casserole. Also DIVINE. Promise.

Both of these recipes have been famous among my family and friends and were passed on to me from my mum who is a WONDERFUL cook

If you do try them... let me know how it turned out!

Cheese and Carrot Casserole
Makes 8 servings

12 med carrots, sliced
butter or margerine
1 sm. onion, chopped
1/4 C. flour
2 C. milk
1 t. salt
1/4 t. dried mustard
1/4 t. celery salt
dash of pepper
1 C. fresh bread crumbs ( I just tear some slices of white bread into teeny tiny pieces for best result)
1 8oz. pkg American Cheese slices (appx. 8 slices) I know this sounds weird but you need to use this for the right consistency and taste

-In saucepan over med. heat in 1 inch of boiling water, heat carrots to boiling. Cover and cook 10-20 min until tender-crisp; drain.
-In another saucepan over low heat, melt 1/4 C. butter and add onion and cook 5 mins or till tender. Stir in flour until smooth; stir in milk and next four ingredients, cook, stirring constantly until thickened.
-Preheat oven to 350
-In small saucepan over med. heat, melt 3 tbsp butter. Add bread crumbs & toss to coat crumbs.
-Lightly grease 2 qt casserole dish. Spread 1/2 of carrots, then 1/2 of cheese (about 4 slices); repeat. Pour sauce over all. Sprinkle with bread crumbs. Bake uncovered for 20 mins till bubbly.

REALLY TRY THIS SOOOO GOOD!


Sweet Potato Casserole

-5-6 sweet potatoes ( I use yams because I like them better and they are healthier! You will probably use less because the yams are bigger)
-1 C. sugar
-1/3 C. butter
-1/2 C. milk (or cream if you REALLY want to get rich)
-1 t. salt
-1 t. vanilla
-2 eggs

Mix all together. Put into greased casserole dish.

Topping
-1 C. brown sugar
-1/3 C. flour
-1 C. crushed walnuts (if you like nuts, I leave these out.)
-1/3 C. melted butter

-Mix together and sprinkle on top. Bake at 350 uncovered for 35 min.

If you need any specific side dish (or dessert) but don't have a good recipe, let me know. I have a wealth of recipes!

< A Christmas Moment. | Randomness >