Gingerly Lizzy


Gingerbread- Crackhouse?
2001-12-12 - 8:46 a.m.

So the internet has been down for a few days so it has been a while since I last updated.

On Monday night, Dave and I made our first gingerbread house. We decided we would start our own Christmas tradition of making a gingerbread house every year.

Easier said then done.

First of all, I am a weakling. This just supports my decision to go back to the gym. Everyone knows that icing is what acts as the glue and holds the whole thing together. WELL it sure FELT like glue because I just about gave myself a hernia trying to stir the stuff!

So the icing was done and now we had to stick the walls and roof togther. Sounds easy enough doesn't it? NOOOOOOOOO... it was not. Every time we would get one part stuck, another part would come undone.

As I fiddled with this, Dave was trying to feed me. Yes, I said feed me. We were trying to get dinner and gingerbread making done in one shot. I realized that A gingerbread house takes 100% of your focus.

But Dave almost choked me with the massive spoonfuls of mac and cheese. I had to remind him that I don't eat the way he does.

Pretty soon both Dave and I had our bodies contorted around the thing as human clamps. It worked.

But instead of looking like a rectangle shaped house, it was more like a parrallelogram.

Then came the fun part- decorating it. It took all of my willpower to not take over so that we would have a cute little cottage... I had to let Dave help so I designated two walls as his and went to work on my own trying not to think of the disaster that was about to happen over on his side.

He was getting frustrated and cussed now and then, especially when he glanced over to my side where I had applied little kitkat shutters and steps up to the door. A little apple gummi O wreath, a candy cane mailbox and stair rails.

When finally he gave up I looked over to his side to see a lopsided-- er, what was it?

"Oh a Christmas tree honey! I knew that! Good job!"

There was a marshmello snowman stuck to the wall that looked like it was trying to accomplish a breaking and entering and some gumballs not so strategically placed.

We both had a good laugh at that.

After I had finished the front of the house and yard, I had no creative energy left (and little candy since Dave had been eating it).

His side part turned out better than my side part. At least he could have some pride in that!

All in all, it was a ton of fun. We had some good laughs and made a new memory.

This Christmas will be hard because it will be my first without my family.

But it will be the best because it will be the first with my husband... Our first together.

Dizzy-Merry-Lizzy

< BORING< BORING< BORING | What's in YOUR purse? >