Gingerly Lizzy


Not So Good News
2004-06-04 - 11:40 a.m.

So much has happened this past month. Most of it bad - but there are good things that have come out of all of these bad situations.

Dave has testicular cancer. Luckily, it is one of the most curable kinds of cancer there is. He had surgery to remove the cancerous testicle last week and is doing great. The bad news is, we went in for our post-op yesterday and found out that the cancer had already spread to his lymph nodes and now he will need a much more serious surgery to remove those. And then radiation.

Hopefully that will take care of it.

This baby was truly a gift. Considering that I wasn't wanting to get pregnant again so soon - someone from above was nudging me, telling me it was time again. Especially since this could be my last baby.

Hopefully not.

Daves father had a brain aneurism, and is still in a coma. The doctors don't have much hope that he will ever come out of it, but we do - and faith that he will.

This has been horrible and hard. Dave's father has like a father to me - I used to tell Dave he was my favorite in his family. And the most wonderful grandpa to Blake.

The family has drawn so much closer together, taking care of one another, drawing strength from each other.

Then there were all the little things going wrong on top of the big things; Blake getting sick with a terribly high fever and worrying me to death, our oven breaking and finding out it was going to cost $400 to fix, Daves car starting to go on the fritz.

When it rains, it DOES pour.

But surprisingly, we are doing well. Dealing with things that had seemed so unimaginable before, and dealing with them pretty well in my opinion.

We are both just looking forward to going to Canada so much, and having a weekend together, just the two of us in Toronto. We need that.

And then we come back to surgery and many hospital visits to talk to a beloved man who we hope can hear us.

But despite it all, I know that things could be much worse. I have so much love and support and Heavenly Father who is watching over us and helping us through it all.

< Scary | Pictures >